Newbie needs help with tire/wheel sizing....please help !

Robb1821i

Oct 25, 2011
Hello everyone ! Well I'm new to riding, I use my bike to commute in the city of Miami, Fl. So I just purchased a used frame. It's a specialized epic carbon, I believe it's a 1993-1994. I got it for $120 with brakes, sprocket and cassette, obviously i need handlebars and a seat. My question is what kind of wheels/tires should I run. Miami has alot of bad roads and worse drivers. I stay to the sidewalk alot of the time (current bike is just a schwinn mb given to me by a friend) and want to run the widest wheels/tires possible to handle the shock and bumps better. When I went to pick up the frame the owner had a set of roadracing wheels on it (just to show it) I noticed the tire said 29-in on it. The frame seems to taper by the rear wheel and it looked as though I have very little additional space to accomodate wider wheels/tires. would i need a smaller diameter to accomplish this ? The height was perfect for me with the 29 in. Btw I'm 5ft11 about 150lbs. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as i cannot afford to buy wheels and tires that may not fit, thank you for any advice.

Specialized has used the name "Epic" for both road bikes and MTBs, and they've used carbon in both. Hard to know what it is that you have bought.
But at a guess I say it sounds like a road bike, considering your comment about the rear triangle.
Post a pic perhaps?
Has it got suspension? Disc brake tabs?

The silly MTB size 29er is the same rim size as road 28" AKA 700C AKA 622 mm, but usually a bit stronger. If the tire said 29er, then the wheel is of this size. If there were rim brakes fitted and they mated right up to the wheel, then that's the wheels needed for this frame/fork.

A 29er/28"/700C/622 mm rim with a narrow tire will have pretty much the same outside diameter as a 26" with a wide tire, so such a wheel will usually slot right into a 26" frame/fork.