Newbie Q: Brake pad clearance to rim

OrangeCntyCarl

Jul 14, 2003
Hi all,

I'm 42 and just bought a new Giant OCR-2. My last road bike was a 1973 Schwinn Collegiate "Sport". :)
So I'm basically a newbie these days.

The bike was set up at the LBS and I left the store last night with it.

I took the first ride today and noticed the front brake pads have VERY LITTLE clearance with the rim. I can hear rubbing noises when I ride. The wheel appears to turn OK even when I lift the front up and manually turn the wheel.

When I got home, I inserted a piece of paper in between the pads and the rim.
On the right side, the paper slides freely. On the left side, the paper still passes in between the pad and rim, but there is a little bit of resistance to the movement of the paper.

Q: Is this normal? Do pads have to be broken in and then the rubbing will cease after a few rides? Or should I just take the bike back to the LBS to have them check it out? My Schwinn years ago had a lot more clearance and I never had problems braking back then.

This is not the same thing as squealing when I apply the brakes....I don't get squeals.

(I've tried searching for information on pad clearance and every match talks about squealing noises when braking.)

Thanks for any help.
Carl :)

Very good tutorial

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/fix/?id=caliperbrakes

This part is what you're looking for, I think: "Squeeze lever to test pad clearance. Use barrel adjuster to adjust pad clearance. Set clearance for approximately 3-4mm (1/8") per side from pad to rim. Draw slack from system using inner-wire pinch bolt if barrel adjuster is set out to its limit."

Hope that helps. I'd say take the bike to the shop and make 'em fix it! :mad:

BTW: How's that Giant working out for you? I had looked at them when I bought my new bike about a month ago, decided on a Specialized instead.

WP33 said:
Very good tutorial

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/fix/?id=caliperbrakes