Newbie question New Bike ??

fluteloop

Jun 17, 2003
Hi, Im a Newbie from Perth AUS.

looking at purchasing a new bike

Looking at around the $1200 for a Hardtail..

My eye is on the Norco Charger. its $1500 but i can get it for $1200 If I act this week..

Any other suggestions. ? I have an avanti Barracuda Atm. need something my size. any help appreciated.

http://www.norco.com/bikes/2003bikes/charger.htm <--specs

:rolleyes:

At that price range you should be able to find a lot of great hardtail bikes; Deore or LX drivetrains (or a mix of the two), disc brakes, decent shocks and a quality-brand Taiwanese frame.

Don't forget this is great bike buying time; lots of shops want to get rid of their 2003 models to make way for the new ones the factories are coming out. The kinds of deal you're talking about is probably going to be more common than what you'd think.

From Giant you might want to take a look at the Iguana Disc, or the Rainier (which is the closest in specification to the Norco you've mentioned). From there on the Giant hardtail range goes to the XtC series.

You should also be able to find a Raceline Comp (similar spec) or maybe even an Expert (higher spec)

Just seen the 2004 Giant Yukon which has just arrived here in Perth , double discs , Deore rear mech, fluid form frame...Stealth black or orange look real nice for a RRP of just 799$
The Rincon has a major frame upgrade too.

Mmmm, I must Check it Out...

I was a Big fan of Giant when i was younger. I find people bad mouthing them (LBS' that dont stock them.) I find it plays on my mind.

I am making myself go to look at Giant. 6 months ago i wouldnt even waste my time reading the Sticker If i thought it was a giant.

people say they give bang for buck. i'd say most companies would. the only place they would skimp out on is their Frames.