Newbie Questions

eevul

Mar 4, 2004
Hi...first let me introduce myself.

ATM ive been riding for about 3 months now, i took it up as an activity to loose weight. I tried running but the various aches in the knees/shins kinda dictacted that i try something else. Im down from 315 to 247 or so, and loosing. Anyway, when i first started my average speed was 10.5. Today i did a 12.7. The question i have is, the bike im using is a $68 mountain bike from walkmart. Since ive come to enjoy bike riding so much, i will soon be buying a road bike! The question i was wondering about thogh is how much faster will a road bike be? I was entertaining the fantasy of doubling my speed, but i know thats not going to happen, but what can i expect, if anything?

Thx!

M

You will be flying compared to a mountain bike. If your really enjoying riding I would strongly suggest getting a road bike. You will get faster and faster with each ride :)

well... eventually you could double that speed, but don't expect that right away... if you get a decent road bike you will see a couple mph increase for sure!

more than that, you'll feel like you're going a lot faster. the best difference (i think) is that it feels like it takes a lot less effort to accelerate... which is fun... and going downhill... you'll love it! better than more speed, i expect you'll get more satisfaction out of a faster, more resposive bike.

and if you stick with it, those goals of 22-24mph ARE reachable.

have fun!

Originally posted by eevul
Hi...first let me introduce myself.