Newbie seeking advice

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by industrialstr, Nov 24, 2003.

1. industrialstr

industrialstr New Member

I'm just looking to get into biking and had a few questions about a bike I saw on Ebay .. and bikes in general.

I had friends in college who swore by Kona bikes.. and they seem to be well received... We don't have a Kona dealer anywhere near here so I'd be interested in opinions from ye experts.

I'm 6'2" and weigh about 215 lbs. I am interested primarily in a bike I can use on roads/light trails - but one that can take light offroad use (or easily be upgraded to).

I spotted an *old* M700 Cannondale on ebay that seemed a decent price (~ 280 so far) but it would require some updating. I believe it is 21" - it's owner is my height.

Anyway.. I'm rambling. I used to have a bit of info in my noggin about bikes but those years are long gone (though the shimano parts seem to have kept the same names). I have no experience with Cannondales - but would not mind buying the old M700 if it's a decent starter.

Otherwise I could probably spend up to ~600-700 on another bike (Kona?) as my first purchase... upgrading as needed should my interest stick. I am also weary of buying a bike sight unseen.. but would rather not travel 3-4 hours to the nearest Kona dealer.

All suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Tags:

2. mtblvr

mtblvr New Member

Be very carefull with a used Cdale, the frames are notorious for cracking, I have heard of tons of them having cracks near the welds, they grind the welds down and put a thick coat of paint over them to get that smooth look at the joints, but it makes it almost impossible to finx a crack until you have a major failure. I would especially stay away from an OLD Cdale.

3. ireman_1

ireman_1 New Member