Newbie to the Forum -- I've hit a brick wall (Not literally)

Jason71

Oct 2, 2011
Hello everyone. I have been browsing today and have come across this forum. I am fairly new to road cycling, but have been on a bike from time to time over the last 15 years. I have only become a bit more serious about it for the last 7 months. You see, a little over a year ago, I weighed in at 222 lbs being 6 ft tall. I decided to take my life back and decided to lose some weight. I thought that I would run (all runners that I know are thin), so I started-off running. However, my exercise has evolved into road biking. Fast forward to today. I am riding no less than 20 miles per day and I ride 7 days per week. I have lost 60 pounds, and am probably in the best shape of my life. For the past 7 months, I have ridden my Specialized Stumpjumper (Mountain bike) on the road. I have taken that on some longer rides, most of which were 50-60 miles with a 100 mile ride also. This last week, I decided to take things a bit more seriously and I bought a Cannondale SupeSix 1 Dura-ace.

I love it. I have ridden it 2 days now, and I feel as if I am driving a sportscar. It is so much fun. I can't believe that I rode the mountain bike on the road for so long........I really didn't realize how much I was missing out on.

Sorry for the lack of pictures. I will try to get some up. I have never competed, but feel like I want to possibly train for a triathlon or something of that nature, but just don't know where to start. I feel like I need to be faster, but my average speed on my 20 mile ride is just over 21 miles per hour. I feel as if I have hit a wall, and don't really know what to do to increase my speed, stamina, and leg strength. Right now, I don't have a computer. The only electronics that I am utilizing right now are a chest strap and a cheap HR monitor watch. I figure my route using google maps and by driving the route in my car to figure mileage.