newbie turbo trainer question

mogse

Jul 11, 2007
hi
newbie questions
how near to the road is the speed you can produce on a turbo trainer?
seems to be harder to maintain the same speeds that I can on the road. I have a basic fluid trainer made by Volare

i'm fairly new to turbo training and cycling for that matter its only been 4 months
i'm interested in training for Duathlons which have 10 mile bike sprint sections.
on the trainer once a day i do.
5 x 1 minute flat out at a 90 cadence with 1 min 50 cadence between sprints to rest.
I can just about hold an avg of 40kph for 5 x 1 minutes
the last sprint minute is very hard to maintain and I normaly only reach avg of 39kph.

is that the type of indoor training I should be doing to improve my 10 mile bike times?

thanks

mogse said:
... how near to the road is the speed you can produce on a turbo trainer?...
That depends on the design of your specific trainer but in general, your speed on the trainer won't match your speed outdoors. The Kurt Kinetic trainer for instance simulates climbing a 1% grade. Unless your outdoor comparison rides also go uphill on a 1% grade you shouldn't expect the speeds to match. I don't know what trainer you're riding or it's particular power/speed curve but it's unlikely that it simulates a perfectly flat road with no wind with your same aero drag characteristics, etc. Unless it does your speeds indoors won't match what you typically do outdoors.
... i do...5 x 1 minute flat out at a 90 cadence with 1 min 50 cadence between sprints to rest....is that the type of indoor training I should be doing to improve my 10 mile bike times?...