Newbie upgrading his groupset.. Someone walk me through this

jonathandanger

Jun 23, 2007
I feel I have reached the level of fitness and skill that I think I deserve better than Sora/Tiagra 8 speed triple parts. If I want to upgrade to 105 or Ultegra 10 speed triple, can I keep my crankset on? I'm not particularly attached to it, I just want to cut expenses a little, I'm a poor college student.

In case it makes a difference, the crank is a Truvativ ISOflow road triple, I'm not sure how many teeth...

jonathandanger said:
I feel I have reached the level of fitness and skill that I think I deserve better than Sora/Tiagra 8 speed triple parts. If I want to upgrade to 105 or Ultegra 10 speed triple, can I keep my crankset on? I'm not particularly attached to it, I just want to cut expenses a little, I'm a poor college student.

In case it makes a difference, the crank is a Truvativ ISOflow road triple, I'm not sure how many teeth...
Just as an exercise, you should go online and see what the parts you know you need will cost. Then think of this: what would it cost to get a new or good, clean used 105 bike (I think you should go to 105 if you're enjoying the sport!). My guess: $500 for excellent used. Then, what could you sell your current bike for. My guess: $300 if clean and well running.

I'd bet you'll find that buying parts is very expensive and you'd be better off trying to buy a whole new or used bike. Not to mention the time and effort and/or cost of doing the parts conversion.

jonathandanger said:

Hi.
The crankset should be fine, as long as you are upgrading to a triple. If you can afford it, go with the Ultegra, it is noticably better than 105. Are you changing out the shifters, deraillers (front and rear), and brakes (the whole shee-ban), or?

good luck!
FF