Newbie wanting to go on a cross canada trip...

kidflash

Aug 22, 2006
so it's like this... (did i mention i'm new here?)

i just started riding my bike to work in april. 18k (9 km each way) a day, 5 days a week, the 9k ride takes me just over 20 minutes. i'm riding a regular giant rincon bike, with reasonably efficient tires. i enjoy it.

my friend moved to japan today for a year, i'm having a really early mid life crisis (not quite 23 years old yet) and wanting to do something adventurous.

basically - i'm toying with the idea of riding from Winnipeg (middle of canada, give or take) to Victoria, BC sometime in 2007. it's 2300km. i'm thinking 100k a day with rest days, over the period of a month. i have no idea if that's sane or not - but i don't really have two months to take off for it.

what type of training does a kid have to do to be able to accomplish this without dying? (falling off the rockies not counting)

i know i'll need a proper road bike, and lots of mileage. i'm guessing an early fall ride would best, as i wouldn't be ready for spring, and the middle of summer is probably hotter then it needs to be.

i'm open to all suggestions and pointers and stories of anything from what supplies i should take, safety tips, camping vs. hotel vs. rooming with anyone that will let me stay with them, how to still be able to have children after all that riding, etc.

look forward to hearing it. thanks in advance, nice to meet yah.

I have just finished 1000KM around the Interior of BC, at an average of 100KM per day. Usually done in 4-5 hours in the morning. If you are going to do this in summer think about buying lotsa sunscreen!

Also, the trip would be easier west to east, but if you haven't got that option . . .

You have to get that mileage up and remember you will be carrying stuff with you. I was using a cheap MTB with road slicks at 100psi carrying an extra 11kKgs. The hills will be slower than on a roadbike with no buggage!!