Newbie with multiple questions

graye2

Aug 27, 2006
Hello and thank you in advance for any advice. I am new to cycling (2 months) I have been riding 26mile rides and averaging 15mph. I started cycling to get in better shape and now I want to get faster. I am riding a hybrid Trek 7.2FX.

My first question is: If I was to buy a road bike how much faster should I be on my ride and what is an acceptable mph to shoot for?

My second question: I run 5 x per week for 3.5 miles (6mph) should this help my cycling or will it hurt it.

I used to lift a lot of weights and I am 6ft 217lbs so I could afford to lose about 20 more pounds or so. My legs are fairly strong from all the weights but I don't know quite how to work that to my advantage.

Any tips on how to get faster will be appreciated. There are a lot of cyclist that seem to blow by me with what appears to be less effort. It may be my bike or it may be the way I am riding it. I mostly stay in 2nd gear and then shift between 3-7. Any advice on shifting would also be appreciated.

Again I am new to this sport so any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

graye2 said:
Hello and thank you in advance for any advice. I am new to cycling (2 months) I have been riding 26mile rides and averaging 15mph. I started cycling to get in better shape and now I want to get faster. I am riding a hybrid Trek 7.2FX.

My first question is: If I was to buy a road bike how much faster should I be on my ride and what is an acceptable mph to shoot for?

My second question: I run 5 x per week for 3.5 miles (6mph) should this help my cycling or will it hurt it.

I used to lift a lot of weights and I am 6ft 217lbs so I could afford to lose about 20 more pounds or so. My legs are fairly strong from all the weights but I don't know quite how to work that to my advantage.