Next phase

trekchic

Jul 26, 2003
I am a beginner cyclist with aspirations of racing in the women's cat 5 category next year. I have only been on my bike for 2 months. Here's where I am in my progress:

The longest I have ever ridden is 15 miles at one time; but I could've gone longer.

I maintain an average speed of 13.5 mph on the longer rides; including sprinting and riding a hilly terrain at least 3 miles of the 15. I try to keep my speed near the 15 mph range for the duration of the ride.

My fastest flat sprint maintained for 30 seconds has been 23.5 mph; I average 21.5 in a dead sprint.

OK: so what's next? Am I ready to train on intervals and jumps? Am I ready to begin real climbing training?

The race team I have joined is asking when I am going to start riding with them, but I don't think I am ready. I ride with one other person right now. I need to ride more with a club group before I join in on training rides, don't you guys think?

I need a plan of action!

Originally posted by ksbell
I am a beginner cyclist with aspirations of racing in the women's cat 5 category next year. I have only been on my bike for 2 months. Here's where I am in my progress:

The longest I have ever ridden is 15 miles at one time; but I could've gone longer.

I maintain an average speed of 13.5 mph on the longer rides; including sprinting and riding a hilly terrain at least 3 miles of the 15. I try to keep my speed near the 15 mph range for the duration of the ride.

My fastest flat sprint maintained for 30 seconds has been 23.5 mph; I average 21.5 in a dead sprint.

OK: so what's next? Am I ready to train on intervals and jumps? Am I ready to begin real climbing training?

The race team I have joined is asking when I am going to start riding with them, but I don't think I am ready. I ride with one other person right now. I need to ride more with a club group before I join in on training rides, don't you guys think?

I need a plan of action!