Nightmare with gears

Wreckferret

Sep 1, 2010
Hi Guys,

Just after some advice as I'm a total newbie with cycling.

I splashed out on a planet X nanolight bike and have nothing but grief with it's gears since it arrived. It went back to them after 3 rides as the front deraileur span round and fouled the chain and the bracket started rubbing on the tyre.

having just got it back from the factory the rear cassette is clunking on the three rings down from the bigest. In each case the chain is catching on the next ring up and 'almost' trying to change up. On the second biggest ring it actually properly catches and then slips if there's a load on it (as when climbing).

having already sent it back once, and having very little experience i'm feeling like an idiot. I dont feel i know enough to even explain to them whats wrong, but surely this cant be right? Surely a £1600 bike shouldn't clunk and slip gears when it has less that 20 miles on it?

Thanks

Mike

On the rear dérailleur there is an adjuster barrel. You can use that to adjust how the chain moves from gear cog to cog. I would google rear dérailleur adjustment and see if you can find an easy walkthrough guide.

TKOS said:
On the rear dérailleur there is an adjuster barrel. You can use that to adjust how the chain moves from gear cog to cog. I would google rear dérailleur adjustment and see if you can find an easy walkthrough guide.

Should I really expect to have to do that on a brand new bike? Am i just being picky, but I just feel that it should be 'right'...:(

Wreckferret said:
Should I really expect to have to do that on a brand new bike? Am i just being picky, but I just feel that it should be 'right'...:(