No weight loss...why is this happening?

cyclechick00

Nov 12, 2007
Hi, I'm new here. I've been cycling for about 5 yrs. and recently, I've gained close to 40lbs. over the past year and a half. I haven't changed my diet (I try not to eat dairy, sugar and red meat) and I run at the gym for an hour plus do a 45 min. weight routine. I cycle 10-20mi./2-3 days per week. I just put my bike on the trainer for the winter. I'm ready to throw in the towel, because no matter what I do I either maintain my current weight or gain. I used to weigh 95lbs, now I'm 126 and 5'1". I really find it hindering my cycling performance, not to mention I look awful. I had my thyroid tested and all the routine blood work is negative. What can I do to reverse this, am I doing something wrong or leaving something out?

1. You are eating more than you realize. You need to log EVERYTHING you eat during the day. EVERYTHING! This is the only way to keep track of all the calories you are taking in.
2. Your muscle mass has probably increased.

I too have eating issues. Notice I said EATING issues and not weight control issues. The simple semantics here allows me to place the responsibility for not losing weight squarely on my shoulders as gaining/losing weight is a simple matter of calories taken in (eating which is my responisibility) being more/less than calories expended (exercise or metabolism). If I eat more calories than I metabolize, I will gain weight; if I eat less calories than I metabolize, I will lose weight.

I realize I am simplifying things quite a bit, but IMO there is no need to make weight loss any more complicated, confusing, and/or difficult. Just keep an honest log of EVERYTHING you eat and you will realize where you need to cut back...

Tony has some good advice.

Log your diet and exercise on Fitday if you are US/Candian or Calorie King if you are Australian/New Zealand.