Noob looking for advice on bike purchase

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by miyagisan, Mar 6, 2008.

1. miyagisan

miyagisan New Member

Hello. I have flat feet so I need a new form of exercise before I get any fatter! So I'm looking for a bike to suit my needs. It will be for cardio exercise and commuting around campus. I always hated the straight handlebars on my bikes when I was a kid, so I'm leaning towards road bikes. Lightweight would also be nice as I'll be living in a dorm when I transfer schools. I'm a broke college student so I'm looking to spend no more than $250 (not much, I know).

I've considered these, but I don't know anything about bikes

http://www.amazon.com/Men%2592s-Schwinn-700C-Prelude-Road/dp/B000KZ1GHQ/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=sporting-goods&qid=1204834368&sr=1-10

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=4698938

By the way, I'm 5'6"

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Tags:

2. Scotty_Dog

Scotty_Dog New Member

At less than $200, the bikes you listed are a good deal. Although frame size might be an issue for you at 5'-6". The WalMart bike has a 55cm seat tube and top tube, which typically equates to someone around 5'-9". The Amazon bike doesn't even list a size, so I would be hesitant to purchase it as well.

To determine your optimal frame size, you would really benefit from a bike fitting at a local bike shop. That costs money that it seems you're probably not willing to spend, so instead check out some of the online bike fitting guides here:
    http://www.coloradocyclist.com/bikefit
    or here for a more detailed fitting:
    http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za/CCY?PAGE=FIT_CALCULATOR_INTRO

If you can find a new bike in your frame size, at your price point, list it here and we'll give our recommendation. Your better option might be to educate yourself regarding what is/isn't a quality bike or components, and then purchase a used bike from your local classifieds, local craigslist, or eBay.

3. garage sale GT