Norco vs. Kona?

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Paul Westall, Mar 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Westall

Paul Westall Guest

I'm considiering buying a full suspension mtb. I have been riding a Kona hardtail for 5 years and
    have been satisfied with it. However, I am hearing that Kona is sort of coaasting on its reputation
    and that the quality of bikes is suffering. Lots of posts about broken frames, non functionaing
    components etc. Are Norco really more reliable overall? A better deal? Looking for a sturdy trail
    bike (I'm about 190lbs) that can take som moderate drops and jumps . Anyone on the group riding a
    Norco? Paul

Tags:

2. I've ridden a bunch of Norco bikes and ben happy with them all. Norco rules. I don't think anything
    out there offers better value.

I'm currently riding a Norco team 853 hardtail, and a Norco Drop freeride bike. Both are great
    bikes, and I'm about the same weight as you. I thrash the hard tail pretty hard, no big drops, but
    If I did that stuff on it I'd be more worried about the wheels than the frame. Two years ago, I rode
    nearly the same component spec on a kona explosif frame, and the head tube ovalized in one season. I
    wasn't impressed.

I don't know what your idea of moderate drops is, but my drop has handled five footers to flat and
    bigger stuff to a good downhill tranny with no problems.

Buy Norco.

Greg.

Paul Westall wrote:

> I'm considiering buying a full suspension mtb. I have been riding a Kona hardtail for 5 years and
    > have been satisfied with it. However, I am hearing that Kona is sort of coaasting on its
    > reputation and that the quality of bikes is suffering. Lots of posts about broken frames, non
    > functionaing components etc. Are Norco really more reliable overall? A better deal? Looking for a
    > sturdy trail bike (I'm about 190lbs) that can take som moderate drops and jumps . Anyone on the