Normalized power and actual 1 hour power wildly different

paulmitche11

Oct 2, 2010
I have been racing as a Masters Cat 4 for a few years. This year I got a late start and only did a few races, getting consistent top 10s. But if others saw my data they would think this is insane.

My best one hour of hard riding this year (really going hard) got me only a reading of 215 watts. My Best on record 40 minutes is only 229 watts. I'm a horrible climber and TT rider.

But I can power. My peak 1 second is 1300+ and this year's 5 second is 1252, 15 seconds is 1121. So, I can usually hang in races by sucking wheels, then when I need to move for a few seconds I've got the gas.

I believe it is as a result of my ability to surge in races and hard group rides that my Normalized Power comes up as 296 for 30 minutes and 284 for an hour. If I could actually do that I would be a much better rider!

Any thoughts on a NP and real-world 1 hour power that differs by 70 watts like this? Which should I be using as an input on my WKO for calculating my zones and TSS scores and such?

I will be spending my Winter trying to get actual 1 hour up to that fictional NP...

Paul

If and it is a big "if", your FTP is/was truly, genuinely <= 230 but you recorded a 1 hour NP of 280+ for a hard one hour race...then you'd have yourself quite the NP buster.

An NP Buster is defined as IF > 1.05 for 1 hour....and your numbers,
if they are accurate would be 284 (60m NP)/230 (~FTP) = 1.23 = IF for 60 minutes.

Frankly, given what I know of NP busters, the types of riders that have accomplished them, how they accomplished them, as well as being familiar with the NP calculation.....I'm not trying to take the mickey out of you or have a go at you, but at first glance I'm tempted to say you likely have underestimated your FTP or that your power measuring device is off-zero......