Nose clogged up during cycling?

cmacblue42

Mar 1, 2006
Ok, when i get on the bike and go for a ride, one thing i predominantly notice is that my nose runs/ becomes congested forcing me to breathe form my mouth. I believe this is my biggest preblem right now involving cycling performance. So any ways to prevent that from happening would be great.
-Mike C.

Exercise-induced rhinitis, I think they call it. Maybe some Flonase or some such nasal drug might help.

Oral antihistamine tablets might help, but they get in your whole body rather than a more local spray in your nose.

Of course, the main side-effect is congestion - dang.

I'm no expert, so have a chat with your doctor to make sure what's right for you.

right now is prime allergy season here in central california. i use a saline spray prior to the ride, and breath right strips. i dont know which one actually makes it better, but ive just always used both.

snaps10 said:
right now is prime allergy season here in central california. i use a saline spray prior to the ride, and breath right strips. i dont know which one actually makes it better, but ive just always used both.
I just potted a few mint plants in the garden next to the gate. On my way out for a ride, I pull off a few leaves and rub them into the back of my glove and tuck them inside. As I ride, I rub my nose with the mint glove and my sinuses clear up without side effect. I've read that other buy mint oil at their local whole foods grocery store and put a few drops into their gloves for a more concentrated snort.

kinda rude but here it is lean over the front bars and snot hard. try to miss yourself and the tire. with practise ya can get 2 streams going. that will miss everything. i said it was rude. works for me.

aa9t8 said:
kinda rude but here it is lean over the front bars and snot hard. try to miss yourself and the tire. with practise ya can get 2 streams going. that will miss everything. i said it was rude. works for me.