nose feel shocked when doing somersault under water

Discussion in 'General Fitness' started by Author, Sep 15, 2003.

1. Author

Author Guest

I'm a newbie here. I'm not a regular swimmer either.

'shocked' isn't the right word. but I don't know a better word to describe the feeling.

It happens when I do a somersault under water. My body goes head down, and somehow water gets into
    the nostrils. That's when it happens. The impact centers at my nose and reaches my eyes and the back
    of my head. It hurts even after I complete the somersault and have my head out of water. I have to
    give about 20 to 30 seconds to allow the feeling to go away. It happens every time I do it.

I checked with other people (they aren't expert swimmer either). They say they don't get
    that feeling.

Somehow I found if I hold my nose with one hand, the feeling isn't that obvious. But then I won't
    be able to do a perfect somersault. My body would rotate sideways. So what's going on for me and
    how to solve it?

Tags:

2. Rtk

Rtk Guest

Exhale forcibly through your nose as you flip.

rtk

3. Dakitty

Dakitty Guest

"author" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
    > I'm a newbie here. I'm not a regular swimmer either.
    >
    > 'shocked' isn't the right word. but I don't know a better word to describe the feeling.
    >
    > It happens when I do a somersault under water. My body goes head down, and somehow water gets
    > into the nostrils. That's when it happens. The impact centers at my nose and reaches my eyes and
    > the back of my head. It hurts even after I complete the somersault and have my head out of
    > water. I have to give about 20 to 30 seconds to allow the feeling to go away. It happens every
    > time I do it.

Exhale while turning. Getting into summersault, hold your breath for a moment, till you start going
    up-side down (before the water starts going in) then start exhalig vigorously, through your nose. No