novice needs help please

pincie44

Jun 17, 2012
Hi everyone. I have just signed up to a ride in india, 350kms over 6 days, in Oct. Worst day is 52miles...so 26m, lunch then 26m. My problem is - I am a complete novice. I have been out on my bike over the last month and it is not getting any easier. I can do the 4 miles to my gym - just - but yesterday I decided to do 17 miles. It took me 3 hours, and I had to walk some hills and I feel completely pathetic....at this rate, I won't even get through the morning, let alone 350kms. Have I bitten off more than I can chew? Is this do-able? My Mother told me this evening I was too old and should just give up (I am a 44 year old female). I have spent the last 3 months working really hard in the gym, doing circuits, Zumba, weight training - every week I do 5/6 different classes and, for the last month, I have got on my bike also. I have lost no weight at all (and I am overweight by a couple of stone) but I do feel more toned. But, all in all, progress is painful. So - another question - how important is my diet in all this - or am taking it too seriously? I do eat well-ish but certainly not the diet of an athlete! Any help greatly appreciated - husband and Mother not too interested! cheers

Just spitballing here, as a novice myself and also overweight, but it sounds like you're trying to do way too much. Do you have recovery time in between?

Given how hard you're working out, unless you're biking mountains 17 miles in 3 hours is extremely slow. Given that everything else you're doing would pretty much kill me, I don't think it's about your fitness level.