NP Decline over three hour race

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by James SA, Nov 29, 2012.

1. James SA

James SA New Member

Hi All,

I am new to cycling and this forum and hope I can find some help. Firstly, I have been cycling (mtb and road) for about 12 months and training in a structured way for about 6 months. My current program is Tues, Wed, Thurs of 60min L3/L4 sessions and 2 longer rides on weekends (2 - 4 hours) at L2/L3. I just completed a 100km race and when I compare my NP from the first hour to the second hour it dropped by 10% and then again by 11% in the third hour (it took me roughly 3 hours to complete).

Is this a sign of poor aerobic fitness? if so can I improve this with my current program or do I need to change something?

Tags:

2. gudujarlson

gudujarlson New Member

It's hard to conclude much from the details given. Most people's power will decline over the course of 3 hours if they go all-out the entire time. If the race was like a time trial then you might consider some different pacing strategies, e.g. start out slower so that you can finish stronger. Your training program sounds reasonable for a 3 hour time trial event.

3. bgoetz

bgoetz Member

Yeah mine drops quite significantly, as it should. A hard race I am typically at around 100-105% FTP for 1 hour. Since one of the ways to determine FTP is your hour NP of a hard race you could not expect to continue at that pace. I think the last time I looked, my 3hr NP (note not the 3rd hour, but 3 hour), was slightly more than 90% of my NP and that was all I had for 3 hours. A lot has to do with the dynamics of the race, but as a generalization all races will likely see a decline as everyone is getting tired. I would judge your ability and weaknesses by if you are still there at the end.

4. bgoetz

bgoetz Member