NP vs. AP (and road vs. trainer)

peterpen

Jul 29, 2003
I'm new to using a PM and Cycling Peaks and not sure about how to weight NP vs. average power. For instance, here's some numbers from my ride yesterday on my bread and butter training loop.
Entire ride (209w):
Duration: 2:43:09
Work: 2024 kJ
TSS: 251.8 (intensity factor 0.967)
Norm Power: 251
Distance: 48.574 mi
Min Max Avg
Power: 0 963 209 watts
Heart Rate: 85 229 153 bpm
Cadence: 29 120 82 rpm
Speed: 0 50.3 18 mph
Torque: 0 445 96 lb-in

This loop has 3000' of ascent and I did 4x 10' intervals at 250w but took it real easy on the four main climbs (excluding 15" sprints at the bottom and top of each climb.) So I'd say 7 out of 10 RPE. That is also reflected by my av. HR (that max of 229 is interferance, the real max was 10 bpm below my actual maxHR.) Now, I think (hope?) my threshold power has moved up since September (when it was tested at 260w @ OBLA) but yesterday's ride sure felt more like an 80% effort than a 96% effort.

Curious to hear how much attention people pay to NP? Other than RapDaddy - seems like NP is the name of the game for you. ;) I sure like the bigger numbers it gives me, but the AP number seems often to correlate more closely to RPE.

My other question - how do your road watts compare to trainer watts? For the same RPE, I can usually get 25 - 40 extra watts during intervals >10' on the road vs. the trainer (same holds true for rollers vs. trainer.) I'm able to keep my temp. low indoors (big ol' fan, windows open, plenty of liquids) but damn it seems a lot harder. Thoughts?

peterpen said:
Curious to hear how much attention people pay to NP? Other than RapDaddy - seems like NP is the name of the game for you. ;) I sure like the bigger numbers it gives me, but the AP number seems often to correlate more closely to RPE.