Numb fingers??????

C'ya

Mar 2, 2003
Hi..I am new to all of this cycling. Only been doing it a few months now.

I have a question...have any of you experienced numbness in your fingers? I hardly "grip" the bars..and I have gel gloves..but by the end of my ride my fingers are tingling.

Any suggestions? Thought?

I also had a similar experience. I had a lot of my weight distribution on my hands and arms and with the rough road surface (vibrations) my hands were also tingling afterwards. I just changed my weight distribution and it went away.

Also have a look, maybe your gloves are a size to small.

Thanks for your suggestions...I will check them both out and see what helps!;)

I had this problem and just had to loosen my gloves, I think I got a size to small!

There is a condition, the Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, I kno too little of it to say specificaly where and how but what I know is that your bike setup must be correct to alleviate undue pressure from this nerve. Constant pressure can cause problems and eventually the only help is surgery. A previous issue of Ride Mag had an article of this. For back issues or copies contact them at www.ride.co.za.

Keep those wheels spinning!!!!

Big H

Had the same problem, and as Big_H said, I changed my bike setup (My saddle was to far to the back!). Problem gone! Just remember, don't overdo the changes (I changes 5mm at a time)

Hi! I had numbness in my hands for years on. I was told I needed to drink more water to keep myself more hydrated. then
I started having problems at work too. I had carpal tunnel syndrome in boths hands and eventually needed surgery. It is fine now. I had to give up biking for a few years. I just started riding a recumbent bike. You don't lean on your wrists and it is great.