Numerous flats... ready to give up!!

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by terpsucka, Apr 6, 2010.

1. terpsucka

terpsucka New Member

Hi there, newbie here. I've been biking to work on a "hybrid" a few days a week for about a year now, but have been experiencing flats with increasing frequency. I've tried a few things-- tire liners, various pressures, but I keep getting flats. My ride is about 12 miles each way, and I got to the point where I was seeing about one flat every other ride. It's all sidewalk/trail/street riding, and I'm not hitting anything obvious in the road.

I thought I'd found the answer-- I put a tube of slime sealant in each inner tube, and I went awhile with no flats. Finally yesterday, I got a flat the slime couldn't cure. I took off the tire and found six spots that had been sealed, all around and on all sides of the rear tube. I guess the slime was finally all used up. These aren't snakebites and don't look like punctures, they are what appear to be splits in the tube. The fact that they're appearing all over the tube makes me think it's not the tire or the wheel that's at fault. My local bike shop only sells "Forte" tubes, so that's what I've always used, and I've been through probably 10 of them. I use the width and diameter called for on my tire, but I don't have the manual for the bike itself, so I'm not sure what it calls for... I assume it's the same since the tires are what came on the bike. My wheels don't show any signs of wear, and the tape is all in tact. There's nothing inside the tires and they appear to be in fine condition.

I've been stuck in the elements far from work and home several times changing tubes (or worse when I forget to replace my spare!). I love the biking, but unless I can solve this problem, it's just too much hassle. Any suggestions?

Tags:

2. jhuskey

jhuskey Moderator

A lot of possibilities but my top guesses would be a bad batch of tubes or tubes that have dry rotted sitting on the shelf.