Obligatory "hey im new here i hope this is the right place to post this" post

MarshaW

Apr 28, 2011
Hello, I am new to cycling and am enjoying it a lot so far. I was recently struck by a vehicle while entering a crosswalk from a sidewalk. I was going towards traffic (again, on the sidewalk) and she was trying to make a right turn on a red signal. I was approaching on her right and when i entered the crosswalk she struck me. Her insurance company is saying they think it's my fault (obviously). I am not sure what to think. Any advice my friends?

I'm not sure I understand I completely understand the scenario, but based on what I think you're saying:

You were crossing an intersection like a pedestrian, but you were riding a bike.

If you want to be treated like a pedestrian, then you have to get off your bike and walk it through the crosswalk.

If you choose to ride your bike through intersections (most of us do) then usually you need to follow the same traffic laws as the cars do, because you are not a pedestrian.

There are exceptions where you might be riding against traffic and still have the legal right of way, a dedicated bike lane in the opposite lane of traffic would be an example, but you said you were riding on a sidewalk entering a crosswalk....

So, it's sounds like you were riding your bike expecting to be treated as a pedestrian, but I suspect the court will treat you as a vehicle and find you at fault, or at least partially at fault.

But, if I'm misunderstanding what you said and you were walking your bike through that crosswalk as a pedestrian...then the driver is at fault.

I hope you didn't get hurt!

Originally Posted by Volnix .

Did you call the police at the moment of the accident?

That is one of several things i regret not doing.

Originally Posted by 64Paramount .

I'm not sure I understand I completely understand the scenario, but based on what I think you're saying: