OFF TOPIC - Brickies

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by James Hodson, Jun 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. James Hodson

James Hodson Guest

Here's something I was sent recently.

====================================================

This is a bricklayers accident report, which was printed in the newsletter of the Australian
    equivalent of the workers' compensation board. This is a true story.......

Dear Sir, I am writing in response to your request for more information in Block 3 of the accident
    report form. I put "poor planning" as the cause of my accident. You asked for a fuller explanation
    and I trust the following details will be sufficient.

I am a bricklayer by trade. On the day of the accident, I was working alone on the roof of a new six
    storey building.

When I completed my work, I found that I had some bricks left over which, when weighed later were
    found to be slightly in excess of 500lbs. Rather than carry the bricks down by hand, I decided to
    lower them in a barrel by using a pulley, which was attached to the side of the building on the
    sixth floor. Securing the rope at ground level, I went up to the roof, swung the barrel out and
    loaded the bricks into
    it. Then I went down and untied the rope, holding it tightly to ensure a slow descent of the bricks.

You will note in Block 11 of the accident report form that I weigh 135lbs. Due to my surprise at
    being jerked off the ground so suddenly, I lost my presence of mind and forgot to let go of the
    rope. Needless to say, I proceeded at a rapid rate up the side of the building. In the vicinity of
    the third floor, I met the barrel which was now proceeding downward at an equally impressive speed.
    This explained the fractured skull, minor abrasions and the broken collar bone, as listed in section
    3 of the accident report form. Slowed only slightly, I continued my rapid ascent, not stopping until