Ok, I need some quick MTB buying help!

Seattle18

Aug 29, 2006
I have a couple options, and I need some advice. I have about $800-$1000 to spend, and I need two MTBs. I have a deposit on a 2006 Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc (http://www.specialized.com/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=12990), with upgraded brakes (Hayes Nines), and a stock Hard Rock for the second bike. (I am getting a great deal on the Rockhopper - $650 for the bike, including the hydraulic brakes.)

OR, a pair of Giant Yukons or Trek 4300's. What is the better way to go, and why?

Thanks in advance.

Marc

Marc,

I'm pretty new to this also. What type of riding are you doing and who is going to ride the second bike. If you are pretty confident of all 3 (or 4) models, ride them and see what feels/fits best. Good luck, Greg

gt3413 said:
Marc,

I'm pretty new to this also. What type of riding are you doing and who is going to ride the second bike. If you are pretty confident of all 3 (or 4) models, ride them and see what feels/fits best. Good luck, Greg
Ok, I just returned from the bike shop. I paid the $650 for the RH Comp Disc after taking a good test ride. This one:

06RockhopperCompDisc_Drm_l.jpg

Then I began to work on a bike for my son. We began with an 07 Hardrock Sport Disc for $450. Then I spotted another HR in a different spot in the shop, and it turned out to be this one - 2006 Hardrock Sport Disc:

06HardrockSportDisc_Drm_l.jpg

After some hard negotiating, I got him to come down from $449 to $400, then with some cash waiving and talk of me looking elsewhere, he came down to the $350 I was hoping for. To me, it seems like a great deal, and my son test rode and loved it. Now, you guys, the experts, tell me if I did well please!