Old Sun Solo road bike

Discussion in 'UK and Europe' started by Bob Flemming, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Flemming

Bob Flemming Guest

There is one of these down the dump.....I know it's not up to that much, it's old with 27" steel
    wheels, but it's a 25 " frame, and has forks that bend forward a bit more, rather 'like' proper
    touring folks..

It looks like some generic type bike. Made in England. Just the basic
    52/38 front and 6 block on the back. Has anybody heard of this 'Sun Solo' road bike before?

cheers

bob

Tags:

2. John Scott

John Scott Guest

The sun solo was my first racer when I was a student 20 yrs ago, Black with orange emblem on it, I
    went everywhere on that bike. It was stoledn outside the university library in Aberdeen, That'll
    teach me for being so swotty. That could be my bike.

Oh memories ! "Bob Flemming" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:eek:[email protected]...
    >
    > There is one of these down the dump.....I know it's not up to that much, it's old with 27" steel
    > wheels, but it's a 25 " frame, and has forks that bend forward a bit more, rather 'like' proper
    > touring folks..
    >
    > It looks like some generic type bike. Made in England. Just the basic
    > 52/38 front and 6 block on the back. Has anybody heard of this 'Sun Solo' road bike before?
    >
    > cheers
    >
    > bob

3. Clive George

Clive George Guest

"Bob Flemming" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    > 52/38 front and 6 block on the back. Has anybody heard of this 'Sun Solo' road bike before?

One of these was my first drop handlebar/derailleur bike when I was 12
    (1983). 100 or so quid, standard steel raleigh frame, 5 speed, cottered cranks, weinmann suicide
    levers + ally (I think) sidepulls, steel rims, rat traps, a boys dream. So it's a reasonably
    bog standard low end raleigh 'racer'. FWIW the frame is still going, so it can't be all bad.

cheers, clive