One Legged Training

ebola

Jul 22, 2003
( i'm a recreational cyclist, still quite new to it, not competitive or anything.. )

I read something on one of the threads here about training using 1 leg, apparently this is a good way to develop the 'pull' phase ? I'm relatively new to clipless pedals & do find the 'pull' part hard work & not yet sustainable.
Is practicing this likely to be of any value ?

My colleagues noted how seriously I'm reading these forums. A couple of weeks ago they jokingly suggested they put up bogus info to make me look stupid.. I had to check.. visions of me cycling in with 1 leg dangling have got a good laugh in my corner of the office .. ( where do you put the other leg ? )

I do this on a trainer - you can prop one foot up while you pedal with the other. It will be a bit frustrating at first and you won't be able to keep it going very long in the beginning. This technique is covered in "The Lance Armstrong Performance Program" - a pretty good book if you're just getting started.

This training technique is very difficult for me as a beginner, but from what I've been told by several coaches it will be worth the effort.

P.S.: Get your colleagues out for a ride one of these days and see who gets the last laugh. :p

Originally posted by ebola
( i'm a recreational cyclist, still quite new to it, not competitive or anything.. )

I read something on one of the threads here about training using 1 leg, apparently this is a good way to develop the 'pull' phase ? I'm relatively new to clipless pedals & do find the 'pull' part hard work & not yet sustainable.
Is practicing this likely to be of any value ?

My colleagues noted how seriously I'm reading these forums. A couple of weeks ago they jokingly suggested they put up bogus info to make me look stupid.. I had to check.. visions of me cycling in with 1 leg dangling have got a good laugh in my corner of the office .. ( where do you put the other leg ? )