Opinions on cheap schwinn road bikes?

tumbleweed77

Aug 27, 2006
my boyfriend is interested in getting a new bike... perferably a road bike, under $500... While I've been cycling for 2 years now and ride a scott cr1 pro i don't know much about bikes in this category... ride now he's got his eye on the schwinn seneca at sports chalet for $300... any opinions? any similar bikes to look into? better bikes? he rides about 6 miles round trip to school and back and rides the bike around town so commuter friendly... he may go on some rides with me and my bike club...so the bike would need to be sturdy and steady enough... weight really isn't a huge issue.. just durability.

http://www.sportchalet.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2427135&cp=2268694&parentPage=family

You've got to be kidding me. The Scott cr1 pro is nothing to sniffle at, you must fly on that and have fun doing it. Which begs the question as to why you would date someone who isn't into riding?:confused: Sorry if I seem harsh but I would love to date a girl that rides a couple thousand dollar bike. Having that of been said I think the Schwinn is fine but for roughly 600-700 the step up to a entry level bike like a Trek1000 would get your boyfriend on a bike with brifters/sora gruppo. Or some savvy searching and luck may find a nice clean used bike with similiar components on ebay for about the same money as that schwinn will be new. As I said the schwinn is fine for commuting and the occasional easy ride but if your boyfriend may want to get a little more serious about riding then he may want to step up a click or two. Its not the frame or wieght that makes the schwinn less desireable as it is the shifting components.