Our "new" Fujis

robn311

Jul 17, 2011
I am fairly new to cycling but have really taken to the sport. Like many, my first bike was a comfort hybrid. I love it and use it all the time to commute to school/work and cruise around, but it's really heavy, and I wanted something a little sportier and quicker. So I decided that I wanted to get a decent, inexpensive, older road-style bike to (1) have for fitness and slightly longer-ish rides than I take on my hybrid and (2) figure out if I like drop-bars and longer, faster rides before I spend a lot of money on a fancy new bike. So I've been perusing Craigslist for older used bikes, and my girlfriend and I came across 2 1980s Fuji bikes on Craigslist. We ended up purchasing both of them, a 1986(I think) Fuji Regis and a 1980/81 (again, I think) Monterey. I know they're both low-end bikes, but they are in really great shape and were each under $100. Mine (the Regis) is ready to go, all original except the pedals. The Monterey is all original, has a great frame, just needs a little tune up and some air in the tires. Anyways, we're both really excited. I haven't done anything to these bikes yet. I would like to give them a nice wax...will regular car wax work? Also, there are a couple tiny specks of rust on the frame of the Regis...any way to get this off without completely jacking up the paint? If anyone has any thoughts on these bikes (good or bad) or any suggestions for upgrades/alterations/etc, please let me know! Thanks!
Rob
p.s. Since taking these pics, I have flipped the skewer in the front wheel; it's backwards in the photos!