Out On The Road

jkxw

Jul 27, 2004
I'm new to riding and would like to know what are essentials you guys take out on the road with you?

mdbrown said:
usually a couple water bottles and maybe a powerbar.
And what happens if you get a flat or other mechanical problem. Walk home? Maybe it's no issue if you only ride around the block?

I usually carry a spare tube, tire levers, a CO2 inflator, a folding set of allen wrenches, and a couple quarters.

I carry a minimal repair kit: frame pump, presta-schrader adapter, a few patches, two tire levers and a Top Peak multi-tool for quick adjustments. In little zip-lock bags I also carry my wallet, a little spare change in the local currency and a pack of smokes and lighter.My rides are fairly short, less than an hour commute twice a day. For longer rides I might carry more extensive repair kit and more spare change.:)

Two cans of HALT
One or two water bottles
ALIEN tool
two tubes
Road Morph pump
patch kit
blinky
emergency headlight (mini-mag and piece of inner thube)
fold up reading glasses so I can see what to fix
fig newtons or cliff bars
rack-mounted home-made Musette-bag pannier
Kryponite cable lock

yea, it's heavy, but I'm used to it.

Water bottle.
Can of pepper spray.
Folding wrench set.
Spare inner tube.
C02 canister and nozzle.

Wallet and keys in jersey pockets.

On one of my bikes that has hard case tires, I carry tire levers also.

Two water bottles in cages.

In under-saddle pack:
Park multi-tool
Spare tube
Tire irons
Wallet
Cell phone
House key

Under top tube:
Frame pump

Dean

Two water bottles

Mini- pump on the downtube

In a very small pack under the seat.

Topeak mini-tool
Spare tube
Patches
Lip Balm

(that's all that will fit in my seat bag, I MIGHT slide in my identification/credit card on occasion)

Hanging/wrapped through seat rails and around seat bag, a combination cable lock.