overcoming fear

stu bryant

Oct 4, 2004
i am new to mountain biking and due to my age(i guess) i go too slow!!!
i also have to do all my riding alone. i bought some armor and am going out thurs. and will try to ride it like i stole it!!!
any suggestions???
stu

I don;t have the age problem...yet. However, riding it like you stole it, even with armor isn't the path I'd take. Tried it once. Still have the scars. The best way is to build up your skills and dont exceed your comfort level...too much. Push the envelope, dont throw it.

stu bryant said:
i am new to mountain biking and due to my age(i guess) i go too slow!!!
i also have to do all my riding alone. i bought some armor and am going out thurs. and will try to ride it like i stole it!!!
any suggestions???
stu

Do you know someone who is experienced that can take you out and show you some of the skills you need to know? There is a lot of skill involved in mountain bike correctly. It can be learned through trial and error, but it's a lot less painful to be shown what you need to know.

I don't think age has anything to do with it. I'm a female and I took up mountain biking two years ago at the age of 43. I'm still not great, but I have a lot of fun trying. Good luck.

Howdy.

I started mtb'ing last year and found Ned Overend's book to be helpful. Last the poster - ride at your comfort level and ride some more. You'll be alright!

Jerry

thanks for the advice i do have the bible(neds book)
stu
Tmax1 said:
Howdy.

I started mtb'ing last year and found Ned Overend's book to be helpful. Last the poster - ride at your comfort level and ride some more. You'll be alright!

Jerry

no i dont have anyone to ride with and by age i mean that when we are young we seem not to worry so much about the consequences as we do when we get older.
bholde said: