Overweight and New to Cycling

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by mason1991, Oct 13, 2013.

1. mason1991

mason1991 New Member

Hey guys, as the title says, im new to cycling and im a bit over weight (268 pounds to be exact), and im looking at starting to cycle to work in order to get some exercise. Now the journey is only 3.2 miles but its quite hilly, to the point where i wouldn't be able to make it without being a sweaty breathless mess when i get there. what i want to know is what sort of bikes should i be looking at in order to make my journey a bit easier for me. i know its still going to be tough but anything that can make the trip less tiring would be a help. my maximum budget would be £500 ($800). Thanks in advance.

P.S, i know nothing/very little about bikes

Tags:

2. alienator

alienator Well-Known Member

You're best be would likely be a hybrid bike. Hybrids are sort of a cross between a road bike and a mountain bike, although they lean toward the road bike side more. They tend to have a much more upright riding position that road bikes. They also tend to have lower gearing than most road bikes, and that makes it easier for the less experienced or those that are less fit to get up hills. Hybrids typically come with tires suited for the road or gravel trails which means they'll roll easier on pavement than the typical mountain bike with knobby tires. I'd suggest you to a bike shop or two.....or three....to see what they have in stock and to get some test rides on different bikes. Be honest with them about your abilities, conditioning, and what you're looking for in a bike. They should point toward something that meets your needss.

steve likes this.
  3. Bozidar

Bozidar New Member