pain under my scrotum after riding one hour

glucany

Mar 24, 2012
Hi everybody, I am an almost absolute beginner who fell in love with the sport 9 months ago. I go out as often as I can and my conditioning improves I have been able to ride longer and more intensely. With longer and more intense rides I have been developing three distinct pains: pressure under scrotum, lower back and knees.

While the latter problems are being solved with the help of a good professional fitter who's not trying to sell me a new frame, the pressure under my scrotum is getting to be a problem.

It starts around one hour into the ride and I can deal with it by getting up on the pedals for 10 seconds every 5 minutes. This gets me through the second hour. After that it gets worst and worst: today I had to stop after three hours of riding with my new group and rest for 15-20minutes. The rest ride after that was hell anyway.

I have an old saddle without the "slit" in the middle (I can't tell what make and model it is) so I guess I could try a new one: but since the problem comes up after an hour, how can I make sure a new saddle I'll try is good?

Are there shorts with "superpad" which could help me?

Or is this a posture problem? The bike fitter I used made me change my posture: I now lean forward towards the handle with my butt sticking out. This has helped lowering my back pain considerably.

Thanks a lot.

Luca

Try a dif saddle also make sure your knicks have a high quality chamois.

Check your position on the bike and your saddle's position. If either of those is off, you can get what you're experiencing. If everything is copasetic with position, then it might time to look at a new saddle. The chamois isn't going to keep your nutsack pain away. In fact, if the chamois has too much padding, it causes numbness and pain. You should post a pic of your saddle as seen from the side, at the height of the saddle.