Pedal recommendation

pudge44

Jul 14, 2005
Hi. I'm new to this forum and looking for some advice on pedals.

I'm a relative beginner cyclist -- I bought a Trek 7200 hybrid last summer to get into better shape and have taking 15-20 mile rides once or twice every weekend since, with one metric century under my belt for good measure.

I think I'm finally ready to upgrade from the standard plastic platform pedals to either clips or clipless. Since I'm strictly a recreation cyclist at this point, I don't want to break the bank. Would it be smarter for me to try clips first, and then graduate to clipless/shoes? From what I've read, it seems like clipless/shoe combo is the way to go. Is it possible to get a decent set (functional, not high performance) of pedals and shoes for around $100 US?

Any advice, shopping suggestions, etc., would be appreciated. I've got a pretty good LBS, so I figure I should start there, but I know I can get much better prices online. I just don't want to buy shoes online before I've tried them on.

Thanks!

I am also new to this site, but think I can help. I have two bicycles, one is a cross (Novara Corsa) and the other is a Road Litespeed. The Cross I use for commuting to work and have toe clips (not straps), that makes it easier going up hills (I have a 500' hill to climb). The Litespeed has clipless, Crank Bros Candy C. The toe clip cost about $15 and regular shoes are ok, this is the cheapest, quickest and easiest to start.