pedal threads

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Rosborn49

Newbie here, going from clips to clipless. Having a hard time removing pedals, difficult to turn
them either direction. I bought Bicycling Magazine's Complete Guide to Bicycle Maintenance and
Repair, it says the left pedal is reverse-threaded, turn the left pedal clockwise to loosen, and the
right pedal counterclockwise to loosen (page 298). This seems backwards to me, based on the
direction the pedals rotate while riding. I thought the goal was for normal riding rotation to
tighten the pedals, and if this is the case the right pedal rotates counterclockwise relative to the
crank arm while riding, therefore it should turn clockwise to loosen. I don't want to strip the
threads, which way is loose?

"Rosborn49" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Newbie here, going from clips to clipless. Having a hard time removing
pedals,
> difficult to turn them either direction. I bought Bicycling Magazine's Complete Guide to Bicycle
> Maintenance and Repair, it says the left pedal
is
> reverse-threaded, turn the left pedal clockwise to loosen, and the right
pedal
> counterclockwise to loosen (page 298). This seems backwards to me, based
on the
> direction the pedals rotate while riding. I thought the goal was for
normal
> riding rotation to tighten the pedals, and if this is the case the right
pedal
> rotates counterclockwise relative to the crank arm while riding, therefore
it
> should turn clockwise to loosen. I don't want to strip the threads, which
way
> is loose?
>

The pedal on the chainring-side of the crank is a standard thread - righty tighty, lefty loosey -
and the pedal on the no-chainrings-just-a-crankarm side is reverse threaded - lefty tighty righty
loose. http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/FAQpedls.shtml

Grease your threads!

Chris

Thanks Chris, I must have been sitting on the bike backwards!!

"Rosborn49" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...