Pedaling in Circles

mark444

Feb 17, 2008
:rolleyes: For the last two years I've been getting back into the activity. Some of the books I'm reading talk about "pedaling in circles." This concept seemed to be big 10 years ago...but I've recently heard that it is a more a myth now. What is the current thinking?

Thanks Mark

If it was big 10 years ago then I guess it'll be big 10 years from now. I'm new to road cycling [sept 07] and the thought of spinning in circles was a new concept to me. I figured you just push down hard and that was it.

Then someone explained with the clock illustration about pulling from 4pm to 7pm :rolleyes: . I'd thought the clip in shoes were just to stop your feet from slipping off the pedals :confused:

I read that when they did a study of those pro-riders, they found that the downstroke was still the dominant point of power by a big margin. Personally, I find that powering the downstrokes certainly works for a short time but would drain the muscles quicker. For more sustained ride, pedaling in circle seemed to be the goer.

mark444 said:
:rolleyes: For the last two years I've been getting back into the activity. Some of the books I'm reading talk about "pedaling in circles." This concept seemed to be big 10 years ago...but I've recently heard that it is a more a myth now. What is the current thinking?

Thanks Mark
Well unless your cranks magically change length as they rotate, then you will be pedalling in circles (relative to the pedal axle) no matter what "method" you use to pedal.

And before this gets out of hand - there are plenty of threads that have gone over this topic ad nauseum. Please use the search function first and read the 15 million posts on the topic.;)

Then just go out there and pedal. When you want to go faster, pedal harder and/or faster. It really is that simple :)

Alex Simmons said: