Phantom test ride questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Don

This evening I test rode a s/m Phantom for apx 14 miles. I have some questions for experienced
Lightning riders. I am trying to decide if I want a Lightning and second, if I do, Phantom or P-38.
I would only be buying a frame and building it afterwards.

I rode in running shoes and my feet went to sleep toward the end of the ride. I normally ride SPD
type pedals/shoes on my Haluzak with no problems. I seem to remember having feet problems with the
Zak before I switched from street shoes to SPD. Seems like I relax more without having to push my
foot onto the pedal. It has been so long that I am not sure if that is the case or not. I also read
that moving cleats one way or the other (which?) can help.

My hands also went to sleep. Especially the thumb and first two fingers. The Phantom had drop bars
like a P-38. Would lowering the bar help?

I liked the bike and it climbed better than my Zak but the hand and feet problem raises flags.
Before I spend my retirement funds again I would like to have a better idea if the bike would
work for me.

I miss the open feeling of the Zak but the Lightning climbed better. I climbed my test hill in the
middle ring. Don't know how many teeth in the ring because I could not find markings. The big ring
had 52t. In my Zak I climb in my 26 smallest ring with a 32 rear cog. Quite a difference.

I could also feel the difference in my knees. Less strain on the Lightning. Not sure if it is
position or the 165 crank vs 170 on my Zak. Not sure if it is illusion but it the 170 on my Zak does
not seem as much too long as the 165 seems on the Lightning. I noticed the Lightning being too long
much more. I think I would want a 155 on
it. Not sure where to get one of those.

I ride a Lightning Phantom II and I love it.

Running shoes are too soft for cycling. That is why you experienced numbness. You would have noticed