Please give me some advice on upgrading my bike

jim mccycle

Nov 22, 2005
I have a fuji silhouette '04 hybrid bike (see picture and specs below). I'm relatively new to cycling so I'm hoping that someone can tell me if I convert the handlebars to drops (for about$300) I'll have a pretty good road bike suitable for touring. Alternatively I could sell it in and get something similar to a specialized allez '06.

As I said I'm new to cycling and despite reading as much information as I can the specs still mean very little to me so I'm banking on you guys to help.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated,
Cheers

Frameset

Sizes

15", 17", 19", 21", 23"

Color(s)

Matte Black

Main frame

Fuji Altair 2 custom butted 7000 series aluminum with PowerDiamond down tube, Double water bottle mounts

Rear triangle

Fuji Altair 1 custom tapered 7000 series aluminum, Fuji forged road dropout with replaceable derailleur hanger

Fork

Fuji Aero aluminum, 1 1/8"

Drivetrain
Crankset

RPM Forged Road, 30/42/52 aluminum chainrings

Bottom bracket

Sealed cartridge, 116mm

Pedals

Wellgo WPD-919 clipless

Front derailleur

Shimano, FD-443, 31.8mm

Rear derailleur

Shimano Tiagra, 9-speed, GS cage for triple

Shifters

Shimano Rapid Fire, SL-R440, 9-speed

Cassette/freewheel

Shimano CS-HG50-9, 9-speed, 12/25

Chain

KMC Z-9000, 9-Speed

Wheelset
Front hub

Alex A-Class, 28H

Rear hub

Alex A-Class, 32H

Spokes

14g Stainless

Rims

Alex A-Class double wall aluminum

Tires

Kenda Kontender, 700 X 26c

Features
Brake set

Tektro Mini-V, forged aluminum with modulator front and rear

Brake levers

Tektro Aluminum for V-brake

Headset

Integrated Road, with convex hollow alloy 25mm spacer

Handlebar

Fuji Double Butted aluminum, No rise, 560mm

Stem

Ritchey Threadless, Forged Aluminum

Tape/grip

Fuji High Density foam

Saddle

Fuji UltraLite Racing, Cro-Moly rails

Seat post

Ritchey Forged aluminum, 300mm

Seat clamp

Aluminum 31.8mm Quick Release

Frame Weight, lb./kg.

3.6/1.64