Please help me with my training.

radziowy

Jan 24, 2010
Hi everybody.
I need your help guys!
I'm pretty new to cycling and need your wise advices on my training.
I've already got a lot of input reading this forum and I really appreciate that somebody puts a lot of time to anonymously help others :)

As I mentioned I'm new to cycling, but I'm not new to sport in general. I have 10+ yrs of running, swimming, rawing etc. behind me.
Of course all of this was done just to stay fit, not to compete.
I tried cycling 2 yrs ago and fall in love with it. In 2008 I just cycle around with HR monitor and in 2009 I bought a decent road bike and indoor trainer
and based on knowledge gained on this forum and few books (Friel, Carmichael etc..) I made my training plan for a year and joined a local cycling group.

I need your help in estimation of my work load levels (what is my L3, L4 etc. expressed in Watts and in my HR) also any advices on how to improve my training routine will be more than welcome :)
I will give you now some data:

I'm 31 yr old male.
Height 183cm
Weight 78kg (my aim is to drop it to 75 till june-july).

I have a tacx flow with power reading and I did Astrand test from the tacx web site (astrand)
and according to it my VO2max is around 62-64 (it didn't improve over a year of training :( ).

Last year I did some races with the group and noticed I'm much better on the climbs than on the flats (it doesn't mean I'm a good climber or better than other folks but I can stay on the climbs with guys who easily drop me on flats and I can drop on the hills guys that stay with me on flats ;) )
I think I owe it to the fact that for some reason I like training on my tacx and even during summer I sometimes do some rides on it rather than go outside.