Polar CS300 HR issues

rudycyclist

Mar 14, 2006
I have been using a Polar CS300 heart rate monitor for the last 2-3 years and have loved it. Today, I get on my bike and my heart rate does not respond. I figured it was a bad battery even though I replaced it about 2 months ago. I change it and still get no response. I went to Polar's website and they say at about 2500 hours the strap will need replacement. I do not think I've come close to 2500 hours. Has anyone has this problem with any other Polar products? Solutions?

By the way, a new strap will run me about $60 from Polar (although I have found them for $30-50 on ebay).

rudycyclist said:
I have been using a Polar CS300 heart rate monitor for the last 2-3 years and have loved it. Today, I get on my bike and my heart rate does not respond. I figured it was a bad battery even though I replaced it about 2 months ago. I change it and still get no response. I went to Polar's website and they say at about 2500 hours the strap will need replacement. I do not think I've come close to 2500 hours. Has anyone has this problem with any other Polar products? Solutions?

By the way, a new strap will run me about $60 from Polar (although I have found them for $30-50 on ebay).

It can still be the strap. That 2500 hr figure assumes a battery in optimal condition. Sadly, not all batteries and battery equipped devices are in optimal condition. Batteries, with age, lose charge and the ability to hold charge. That's why companies like Duracell have been putting "use by" dates on their battery packaging. It also could be that the battery was suboptimal when it came out of the battery factory.

It's equally possible that you put a bad battery in the computer. Try replacing the new battery with another new battery, from a different package.

It's a cheap thing to check and fix. You don't need to buy a new chest strap. You can--or at least you used to be able to--change the batteries in Polar chest straps.