Polar power - Hills and flat

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by sheep, Sep 30, 2004.

1. sheep

sheep New Member

Can anyone help to answer my query,

I'm new to training with power and am trying to get to grips with all the new data.

One thing that I have noticed is that my ave power on the flat is a lot lower than when on a hill.

Over say a 4 minute effort, I put out around 80watts less on the flat.

RPE and heart rate are roughly the same.

Could this be a problem with the power sensor or is it easier to put out more watts on inclines.

Tags:

2. Smartt/RST

Smartt/RST New Member

You will always find that you can put out more power while climbing than on the flats due to the greater mechanical leverage of sitting upright and the decreased economy of being bent over in an aerodynamic position (so the latter of your question was right). However, 80W is a lot. I would speculate that such a discrepancy has to do with your position (eg: too aero on the flats, not enough leverage) or you have always had a tendancy to work harder on the hills and not the flats (ie: you have trained harder/more as a climber and are subsequently better at it).

3. mark young

mark young New Member

Hi Sheep(Derek?),
    Only thing with power is not getting too carried away with it. For the majority of your winter training dont use it as a prescriptive tool, hr and RPE are better, rather keep an eye out for changes in your data ie more watts less effort etc.
    One thing you will do is become fascinated at how you can make yourself smoother with your pedalling/energy. Great tools :D

Mark Young

4. Weisse Luft

Weisse Luft New Member

If you look at the graphs, you will notice your power isn't very consistent on the flats, especially if you are running in a paceline. On hills, you are always putting out power, making the average more realistic.