Possible Wheel Upgrade - wanting opinions/experience

BrianTX

Dec 8, 2010
Hi guys, I'm a relative newbie to cycling, a "whole 10 months or so" under my belt. Anyhow, I've recently started a "TDF Challenge" in my area and keeping up pretty good with it, 20 miles a day for each day the TDF rides....anyways, as I've been picking up the mileage, I've been considering upgrading my wheels and would like your opinions/experiences on the matter.

I'm averaging 20 mph on my 20+ mile rides now. My current wheels are 700c x 23, 2010 Mavic Askiums. I'm contemplating upgrading to the same size in Mavic Ksyriums. From what I read, the Ksyrium's are going to be ~ 300grams lighter. I'm pricing them out on ebay and the web and the going rate seems to be $300-500 for the set....so the question is, do y'all think that the lighter wheel will make a significant improvement in my climbing? On the flats?

For reference, when I upgraded from toe clips to clip-less pedals I was amazed at the extra power and speed I had. I'm curious if lighter wheels would seemingly have the same effect.

Thanks in advance.
Brian.

I'm sort of in the same boat. My new Cervelo S1 came with Shimano R500's and I probably should have upgraded right when I bought it. A friend of mine has some nice Ksyriums on his bike and I'm leaning in that direction as well. Still not sure if I want to spend ~$500 on a new wheelset that's more than 1/4 of the price of the bike I just bought. I'm also really hoping it'll be a very noticable difference. My bike isn't super light and I'm not either (185lbs), but I figured any little bit of weight off and increased stiffness may help with power transfer and acceleration.

I love my Ksyrium SL wheels!! They have been bullet proof for training!! Have even done the occasional crit on them and they have held up awesome!!!