Power Distribution vs Heart Rate Distribution

Porkyboy

Apr 28, 2006
Hi

I wonder whether I could have some expert advice as I am quite new to training with power. I am using a CompuTrainer and will shortly take delivery of a PowerTap SL 2.4, I put all my files into the CyclingPeaks (C/P) package for storage and analysis, I am happy with the setup I am using and confident that my power readings are accurate.

My current FTP I believe is about 275W, I am currently setting my power training bands using the C/P package and the Coggan banding system which seems to be straightforward and easily understood, whether I will migrate to a higher number banding system (RST) will be a decision I will make when I have more experience and based on need.

I have 2 main questions:

If I look at the power data for a workout I did say last night I don't really understand the output. The session I did was 4x5 minute efforts with 5 minute recoveries, I did each of these efforts at 300W. If I look at the power distribution profile it distributes the power as follows:
  • AR 17.8%
  • E 36.3%
  • TE 0.5%
  • TH 10.2%
  • VM 35.2%
If I look at the HR distribution graph it distributes the HR profile as follows:
  • AR 1.0%
  • E 40.5%
  • TE 23.4%
  • TH 35.1%
  • VM 0%
My question is, is this session predominantly Threshold or VO2 max training and why?

My second question concerns how long one should work at one level before increasing the trainer load or power output? What I mean by this is if I am doing a 2x20 session at 275W for both efforts how long should I do this for before say increasing the load to 280W and indeed by how much should the load be increased when it is increased? My gut feeling is to run with the same wattage for say 4 weeks for a session and then increase it by perhaps 5W but should the load be increased sooner/by more, or whatever in order to maximise training adaptations?

Thank you for your help.

PB