Power Meters and Pedaling Effectiveness

RapDaddyo

May 17, 2005
I recently resumed serious cycling after a 30-year absence. I’ve been riding for about 2 months at about 14 hours/week. After a few more months, I plan to start road racing again. Hopefully, the boys have slowed down a touch in my age group. Apart from some improvements in bikes and components, the biggest change in equipment and data seems to be the introduction of power meters. I plan to buy one and use it in my training program. I have read everything I can find (including this forum) about the various models currently available and how to use them correctly. But, I still have a few questions.

First, there is lots of data and discussion about the accuracy of power meters under different circumstances, as well as installation issues, durability and the like. What I can’t find is much discussion of using power meters to develop and test pedaling effectiveness, optimal cadence, crank lengths and riding positions. Do all power meters (SRM, PT, Polar, Ergomo) capture and download data on symmetric/asymmetric pedaling patterns? Is there a difference between the devices in this area? Can these data be analyzed post-ride at different combinations of power/cadence? It would be nice to be able to put a marker or “flag” at certain points during a ride such as the beginning of a test. This would help with post-ride analysis. Do any of the models support this? I read that the PT has an interval feature. Is this a before/after flag on the data timeline?

Second, it is clear that the Polar doesn’t work well on a trainer, I assume because the chain tension is not representative of actual road resistance. It appears that the PT works fine with trainers. Do the SRM and Ergomo models provide realistic and accurate data when used on a trainer – say, Computrainer?