Power Splits - 20 min TT

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by woodgab, Aug 14, 2006.

1. woodgab

woodgab New Member

Does anyone else have a hard time producing an even power split (first half / second half)? If so, are your best times when they are about equal? I've been doing ~7-8 mile TT's this summer and just trained yesterday at 332/295. It may not seem it, but even those numbers came with a very deliberate effort at conserving in the first half. I don't have enough data / times to spot whether I'd be better off going even, but I know that's the dogma.
    TIA

Tags:

2. otb4evr

otb4evr New Member

For me, I just do the first 1/2 mile in upper zone 3, then turn it up.

I usually even-split it, as my last mile or so is upper zone 4...

But then again, I have neither skill nor patience when it comes to doing a TT to perfection...

I am still learning how to put myself right at that line and keep it there for the whole interval. Having to concentrate on a split would require too much mentally... :)

Jim

3. woodgab

woodgab New Member

Well, if even splits were paramount, I guess I could just lower overall average power to achieve it. I know my average is going to be +-10 watts from my CP20 (critical power). Since elapsed time is the goal, however, I thought I'd ask. My head is in Joe Friel's terminology, so forgive me when I ask by zone 3 / 4 if you mean sub-threshold?

4. RapDaddyo

RapDaddyo Active Member