Power Tap wheels

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by Jman, Mar 4, 2006.

1. Jman

Jman New Member

Hello All

I am new to biking, never rode when I was a kid other than to deliver papers. Now I am 55 and overweight and trying to correct that (not my age but my weight :p ). I have been lifting and doing cardio – lost a bunch of weight but till more to go. Bought a Cycle-Ops 300PT (indoor bike with power tap) in late Dec and after about 25 rides I have gotten to 3*15 at 215W and the next day 1*20 at 202W. I like training with power – it motivates me. Even read A.C.’s book.

So I bought a road bike – Roubaix Pro with Dura-Ace 20 spoke wheels. I posted a note here asking if the wheels will hold up under my now slim 250lbs (yeah right! ;) ). Consensus was: NO.

Will the Power tap SL with Mavic Open Pro 32 spoke wheels be OK?

If not, and I go with the Power Tap SL, what wheels will be ok with the PT?
    TIA

Tags:

2. objective

objective New Member

I have no idea what to tell your regarding your wheel selection question but I did what to say, well done on the weight loss!

3. Billsworld

Billsworld New Member

I am 195lbs. I have the open pro with PTon my road bike and I beat the crap out of it.( Max watts output/sprinting is all I do.) I had www.wheelbuilder.com build me a PT wheel for my track bike, and both have held up fine. Tell him your requirements , he will set you up .(ps try not to use them in the rain)

4. Jman

Jman New Member

What is the problem with rain? What will happen?

5. palewin

palewin New Member