Power training without HR

GaryWSmith

May 4, 2005
I've been training with power for a couple of years now and am quite pleased with the results (it's all relative). But to be honest there are a few questions that remain unanswered.

The first relates to a topic which has been raised in another thread. Why is it more difficult to prodice the same steady state power on a trainer than it is on the road. I've read the majority of the postings and the most plausible answer to my mind is the intertial difference. It seems that this is still under debate though.

Secondly, is training by power alone the best way to do things? For instance what about the old adage of "when you are hurting in the legs, take it in the chest and when you are hurting in the chest take it on the legs". So the question is whether the same results are achieved by training at a certain power irrespective of the cadence?

The reason I ask this is that I find it much easier to do my 20m L4 intervals on a hill than I do on a flat road. The difference is quite pronounced. The flats are also where I usually get dropped when racing.

My gut feel is that in addition to power HR should be used as a measure of the load on the aerobic system?

GaryWSmith said:
...My gut feel is that in addition to power HR should be used as a measure of the load on the aerobic system?