Powertap: CPU numbers vary (a lot?)

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by DerJan, Mar 14, 2010.

1. DerJan

DerJan New Member

Hi,

I'm quite new to powertraining, been using my Powertap for a week or four. The thing that has suprised me the most is how hard it is to keep the power number in a certain range. For example, when I ride a flat road, the powertap gives me numbers between 170 and 200, but there are no noticable changes in speed or wind. The display interval is set at 3 seconds. Is this normal?

Tags:

2. tonyzackery

tonyzackery Well-Known Member

Very normal. You're not a machine, and as such, you can't produce power at the same number throughout the 360 degree pedal stroke. For the overwhelmingly majority of us mere mortals ( Jacques Anqutiel excluded - well, even he wasn't perfect), there are two very distinct power peaks in our pedal strokes - the "push down" phases.

There is considerable debate raging on whether or not it is really necessary to attempt to pedal in circles. Is the cyclist that strives for or achieves this "perfection" more powerful on average than a "masher"? Who knows, and I really don't give a rip...but that's just me:D. ymmv...

3. Alex Simmons

Alex Simmons Member

It is normal for two reasons:

1. Power production is by its very nature, a highly variable thing, in particular when riding on outdoor terrain, where every little variation in gradient and wind results in changes to the forces you naturally apply to the cranks.