Powertap G3 hub

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by 3weight, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. 3weight

    3weight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having issues with my Powertap G3 hub. I've been informed by customer service that you cannot update the hub's firmware using a Mac (this information was nowhere to be found on their website).
    Just wanted to put that out there for any Mac users that might be interested in the new Powertaps.
     
    Tags:


  2. fluro2au

    fluro2au New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've given up on pt's. Just broke my second one. Stopped working for no reason, replaced batteries...zippo. They are a waste of money. Just need to find a good deal on a quarq now Paul
     
  3. Conan

    Conan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Out of warranty I guess?
     
  4. fluro2au

    fluro2au New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep and in both cases, by only 1-2mths..
     
  5. renderman5000

    renderman5000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Huh. I had +5k miles on my wired powertap and +2.5k on my G3...no complaints. I haven't needed to update firmware either. The units have been solid for me, besides changing batteries once a season or so. What improvements does the firmware update include?

    Chuck
     
  6. Bigpikle

    Bigpikle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    tempting fate now but will >10k miles on my PT Pro+ I'm still a very happy user. All weathers and conditions and other than batteries at regular intervals and the very slightest sign of bearing wear now I've not experienced issues. Not sure what firmware updates might bring either?

    Having said that I'm just waiting delivery of my Rotor PM any day so I can use it on different bikes and have my choice of wheels back, so am hoping this proves just as reliable.
     
  7. Conan

    Conan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Chuck, the firmware fixes a few minor glitches but most imprtantly fixes the issue many G3's have with batteries being drained very quickly. Something to do with the hub not going to sleep. There was another issue with the low battery warning being set too high or something along those lines. If your batteries are lasting a season you don't have a problem.

    Re powertaps in general: I've got a PT pro which is over 2 years old and hasn't missed a beat. I've recently purchased a G3 and so far it's very accurate and reliable.
     
  8. barqy

    barqy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated firmware on mine in January. I had a low battery warning with mine and swapped the battery and bumped firmware at the same time.

    By the way, the 3.0V battery measured 2.85V, which did not seem "all that low". So, perhaps a bad threshold or a overly aggressive "low battery" algorithm rather than excessive consumption.
     
Loading...
Loading...